2020秋/冬与2021春/夏系列

隐于形

“我们从来都无法控制时间,时间是流动的,而我们需要成为这种流动中的一部分。”中国美术馆民俗艺术博物馆,茧形茶室,瑜舍酒店……设计师PJ从建筑师隈研吾作品中蕴含的东方主义美学汲取灵感,提炼并构思出2020秋冬与2021春夏系列的主题概念——“隐于形”,即“隐于自然,隐于主观”的状态。这是一次破坏中的回归,一次建构中的实验。

PJ在新系列中将形态作为方法,而非内容,去捕捉“形”中的“隐”。这一挑战在于去形留核,即我们感知的不再是服装的具体颜色、剪裁或面料,而是隐于这些形态之中的时间。

隈研吾的设计表面上很独很寂,但内涵却是一种“隐而反,反而真”的原始灵欲,它疯狂,旺盛且冲动,形态模糊⽽秩序犹存。PJ将原生态范式(organic form)与自然肌理(natural pattern)融入新系列的设计之中。与建筑一样,服装也承载着多维的空间关系:这里的隐“如不动是真动”,这里的反“反而真”。

始发于去年底今年初的新冠疫情是危局,也是转折,秩序惯性与生活常态遭到破坏,人类陷入空前的反常、疏离与独处境地。人们以“孤岛”的姿态略过形式本身,开始了向内走的征程。PJ与所有人一样备受煎熬,渴望突破与慰藉,于是开启了“隐于形”系列,开启了一次创造性的回归之旅。

时装,并不只是凝视的客体,也是态度的主体。所谓“隐于形”,更进一步地打破了主客体的固定格局,它是隐藏与发现,等待与追求,此处与彼处,失焦与聚焦,悖反与和谐……“隐于形”,不是看不见,而是从“不见”中看见更多。

2020 Autumn/Winter & 2021 Spring/Summer

Hidden in Forms

“We have never been able to control time. Time is flowing, yet we need to become part of the flow.” Folk Art Museum of China Academy of Fine Art, Cocoon Tea Room, The Opposite House…Inspired by the oriental aesthetics contained in Architect Kengo Kuma’s work, Designer PJ constructed the subject concept of 2020 Autumn/Winter and 2021 Spring/Autumn Series-“hidden in forms”, namely the status of `’being hidden in nature and subjectivity`’. This is a return in destruction as well as an experiment in construction.

In the new series, PJ uses form, instead of content, as method to catch the “hidden part” in the “form”. This challenge lies in getting rid of the shape and retaining the core. In other words, what we perceive is no longer a specific colour, cutting or fabric of clothing, but time hidden in these forms.

Kengo Kuma’s design is seemingly lonely, however its content is a kind of primitive spiritual desire-“hidden but rebellious, rebellious yet true”. It is crazy, vigorous and impulsive; its form ambiguous yet order distinct. PJ integrates organic form and natural pattern with the design of the new series. As same as architecture, clothing also bears multi-dimensional spatial relations: here the “hidden part” “seems motionless yet truly dynamic” and “rebellious” means “rebellious but true”.

The Covid-19 pandemic which started in the end of last year and the beginning of this year is a crisis, but also a transition. With orders, habits and normal status of life destroyed, human beings have fallen into an unprecedented abnormal, isolated and lonely situation. As “isolated island”, people skipped over form itself and started the journey inward. PJ, same as all other people, has been suffering and longing for breakthrough and comfort. Therefore, she initiated the “hidden in forms” series and started a creative return journey.

Fashion is not only the object of gaze, but also the subject of attitude. The so-called “hidden in forms” further breaks the fixed pattern of subject and object. It is hide and discovery, wait and pursuit, here and there, focus and defocus, paradox and harmony…”Hidden in forms” is not seeing nothing, but seeing more from “invisibility”.